Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

University of the District of Columbia Athletic Department Hosts Annual Student-Athlete Recognition Luncheon

Department Picture 2016-17

Photo Album

WASHINGTON, DC – The University of the District of Columbia Athletic Department hosted its annual Student-Athlete Recognition Luncheon on Monday, May 1st, 2017 in the UDC Gym.

Master of ceremonies,  Eric Zedalis (Assistant Director of Athletics for Communications) conducted approximately 130 student-athletes and staff in attendance through a program that contained remarks by Director of Athletics, Patricia Thomas, and the presentation of various awards, including: the Competition Cup, Academic Awards, Team Awards, (most valuable player and coach's award) and the Reslyn Henley Memorial Award.

The women's lacrosse team continued their commitment to excellence in community service by earning its third consecutive Competition Cup award. The winner is chosen based on three criteria: academic performance, attendance at other UDC sporting events and community outreach.

Twenty-one student-athletes were recognized as part of the 4.0 GPA club (Spring/Fall 2016), 56 student-athletes made the Dean's List (earned a 3.3+ GPA while maintaining a 3.0+ cumulative GPA) and 95 student-athletes made the Directors List (earned a 3.0 GPA for Spring/Fall 2016).

Next up was the presentation of team awards. See below for list of award winners by sport.

The highlight of the event came when University of the District of Columbia Board of Trustee member, Jerome Shelton, presented the Reslyn W. Henley Award to distinguished senior women's lacrosse student-athlete, Danielle Falco.


Team Awards:

Men's Soccer:

MVP – Gabriel Torres

Coach's Award – Victor Salinas-Furio


Women's Cross Country:

MVP – Shayna Hodge

Coach's Award – Niasia Harding


Women's Tennis:

MVP – Elena Skobkina & Dominika Hadnadova


Men's Tennis:

MVP – Roc Bozic

Coach's Award – Lukas Doermann


Women's Indoor Track & Field:

MVP – Shannell Hibbert

Coach's Award – Niasia Harding


Women's Basketball:

MVP – Shantrel Oliver

Most Improved – Tyra Coombs


Men's Basketball:

MVP – Joseph Nickerson

Coach's Award – Reggie Sidbury


Men's Lacrosse:

MVP – Nikolas Lund-Murray

Coach's Award – Jhamed Owens


Women's Lacrosse:

MVP – Danielle Falco

Most Improved Player – Ana Sanchez


Women's Outdoor Track & Field


Coach's Award – TBA