Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

ECC Announces 2016-17 Commissioner’s Honor Roll; UDC Boasts 38 Recipients

ECC Commissioner's Honor Roll

2016-17 Commisioner's Honor Roll List

CENTRAL ISLIP, NY - East Coast Conference Commissioner, Dr. Robert Dranoff, announced the list of 1,267 student-athletes who were named to the ECC Commissioner's Honor Roll for the 2016-2017 academic year on Thursday, July 13th, and the University of the District of Columbia had a total of 38.

"We are incredibly proud of those who have been named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll," stated Dranoff. "It's great to see the commitment to the classroom throughout the ECC with another record-breaking performance by our student-athletes. Each year we are so impressed by the work put in by our student-athletes who excel in all parts of their lives."

The total of 1,267 student-athletes named to the Honor Roll sets an all-time high. This is now the eighth consecutive year the number of honorees at the ECC's 10 member institutions and seven associate members has increased (1,255 in 2015-16; 1,125 in 2014-15; 1,102 in 2013-14; 979 in 2012-13; 759 in 2011-12; 678 in 2010-11; 654 in 2009-10; 617 in 2008-09; 613 in 2007-08).

The Commissioner's Honor Roll is awarded to student-athletes who receive a 3.25 or better cumulative grade point average. This annual recognition, in addition to Scholar-Athlete awards, helps to uphold the ECC's mission of promoting the total person and the ability to excel not only in the athletic arena but also in the classroom.

UDC's men's lacrosse team led the department with eight Honor Roll awardees while men's soccer had a total of seven. Six teams had four or more honorees.



About the ECC


Founded as the New York Collegiate Athletic Conference in 1989 and rechristened the East Coast Conference in July 2006, the ECC was formed to enhance intercollegiate athletic competition among member institutions and to assist them in integrating athletics into their academic program in a fiscally sound way. The ECC is committed to the highest standards of scholarship, sportsmanship, teamwork, and citizenship. Its mission is to promote the total person concept in its student-athletes, which stresses the abilities to excel in academic achievement, athletic competition, and positive character traits. East Coast Conference members include: University of Bridgeport (Bridgeport, Conn.); University of the District of Columbia (Washington, D.C.); Daemen College (Amherst, N.Y.); LIU Post (Brookville, N.Y.); Mercy College (Dobbs Ferry, N.Y.); Molloy College (Rockville Centre, N.Y.); New York Institute of Technology (Old Westbury, N.Y.); Queens College (Flushing, N.Y.); Roberts Wesleyan College (Rochester, N.Y.) and St. Thomas Aquinas College (Sparkill, N.Y.). Associate Members include: Chestnut Hill College (Philadelphia, Pa.), Cheyney University (Cheyney, Pa.), Dominican College (Orangeburg, N.Y.), Felician University (Rutherford, N.J.), Franklin Pierce University (Rindge, N.H.), Georgian Court University (Lakewood, N.J.), Kutztown University (Kutztown, Pa.), and Lincoln Memorial University (Harrogate, Tenn.).

The ECC sponsors the following championship sports: baseball; men's and women's basketball; women's bowling; men's and women's cross country; men's and women's lacrosse; softball; men's and women's tennis; men's and women's indoor track and field; men's and women's outdoor track and field; men's and women's soccer; and women's volleyball.


The East Coast Conference is a proud member of the NCAA and Division II. Division II is a dynamic and engaging group of colleges, institutions and conferences of varying sizes and educational missions. Division II members encourage and support diversity; value sportsmanship, fairness and equity; and place the highest priority on the overall educational excellence of the student-athlete.